2022 Composers Now Festival Opening Event

Thursday, January 27, 2022, 7:00 PM EST

Livestream on YouTube 

The Opening Event of the twelfth annual Composers Now Festival featured a vibrant program of music by living composers hosted by Composers Now founder and artistic director, Tania León.

The Composers Now Visionary Award recognized members of the arts community who, through their own creative practice and advocacy for others, have made a profound, positive and lasting impact in our culture. This year, the 2022 Composers Now Visionary Award were presented to:
David Del Tredici
David Del Tredici

(video courtesy of Boosey & Hawkes)
photo by Susan Johann

Mary D. Watkins
Mary D. Watkins

     "Mamie's Lament" from
Emmet Till: The Opera
        Lucia Bradford, mezzo-soprano

     "Pap's Song" from
Dark River: The Fannie Lou Hamer Story
        Philip Lima, baritone
        Andrea Chinedu Nwoke, soprano
        Mount Holyoke Symphony Orchestra
           Ng Tian Hui, conductor
           Darryl V. Jones, director
        (dress rehearsal, April 2014)

The First Commission Award provides young composers with support aimed to encourage artistic potential and creative development. Selected composers receive a Composers Now commission and world premiere.  This annual award is generously made possible by Michael Minard.  The 2022 First Commission Award was presented to:
Ebun Oguntola

 Ebun Oguntola

Interim for trio and electronics (2022)

World Premiere
Performed by the
New Thread Quartet
Jonathan Hulting-Cohen, soprano saxophone
Erin Rogers, alto saxophone
Zach Herchen, baritone saxophone
Erin Rogers, mentor 

award made possible through the generosity of
Michael Minard and Phyllis Ross

Performance of a new work by composer Seong Ae Kim and visual artist Andre Veloux created during their December 2021 Composers Now Composers Creative Residency, co-produced with the Pocantico Center of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund.

Seong Ae Park Andre Veloux
Seong Ae Kim Andre Veloux

The evening also included a 2021 Rohan Chander work performed by pianist Vicky Chow, a performance by Joy Guidry, and composer/trumpeter Jonathan Saraga.

Rohan Chandler Vicky Chow Joy Guidry Jonathan Saraga
Rohan Chander Vicky Chow
photo by Kaitlin Jane
Joy Guidry
photo by Shala Miller 
Jonathan Saraga
photo by Luke Marantz

Rohan Chander - The Tragedy of Hikikomori Loveless for electronics (2021)
     Vicky Chow, keyboards

Joy Guidry - Face to Face (2022) 

Jonathan Saraga - Recurring Dream (2012, arr. 2021)
     Jonathan Saraga, trumpet
     Chris Pattishall, piano
     James Robbins, bass
     Mark Whitfield, Jr., drums
        January 11, 2022; Douglas Recording, NYC
        Scott Chiu, audio-video recording, mixing & mastering and production