2021 Composers Now Festival Opening Event

Saturday, January 30, 2021 at 7:00 PM EST

Streamed Live to Your Home

The Opening Event of the eleventh annual Composers Now Festival featured a vibrant program of music by living composers hosted by Composers Now founder and artistic director, Tania León.

The Composers Now Visionary Award recognizes members of the arts community who, through their own creative practice and advocacy for others, have made a profound, positive and lasting impact in our culture. This year, the 2021 Composers Now Visionary Award will be presented to:

Joan Tower
Joan Tower

 "Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman" (1986)

São Paulo Symphony Orchestra

The First Commission Award provides young composers with support aimed to encourage artistic potential and creative development. Pre-college aged composers are nominated and reviewed by a jury. Selected composers receive a Composers Now commission and world premiere.  The 2021 First Commission Award is presented to:

Paloma Alonso
Paloma Alonso

"2020" (2021)

Darian Donovan Thomas, violin
Shayna Dunkelman, percussion
Angélica Negrón, mentor 


Anthony Cheung

"Character Studies" (2016)

Miranda Cuckson, violin

Anthony Cheung
photo by Ben Gebo

inti figgi-vizueta
 photo by ella joklik


inti figgis-vizueta

"Form the Fabric" (2020)

Ninth Planet New Music


Donal Fox

"The Time is Now, Now's The Time" (2017)

Donal Fox Inventions Trio
Donal Fox, piano
John Lockwood, double bass
Kush Abadey, drums


Donal Fox
photo by Lou Jones

Alba Potes


Alba Potes

"Tres Piezas Breves" (1990-97)

Charles Abramovic, piano


Pamela Z

"Other Rooms" (2018)

Pamela Z, voice and electronics

Pamela Z
photo by Shawn Harris

Please join our mailing list to receive all updates.