2016 Composers Now Festival Opening Event

Saturday, January 30, 2016, 7:30 pm

Hosted by Tania León

Tenri Cultural Institute

43A West 13th Street (between 5th and 6th avenues)

John Duffy

The evening includes a tribute to John Duffy (1926 - 2015), posthumously naming him the recipient of the 2016 Composers Now Visionary Award. The Award honors his legacy as a composer, mentor, role model and as the Founder of Meet The Composer and The John Duffy Composers Institute.

Frances Richard




Frances Richard, who will be in attendance at the event, will also receive a 2016 Composers Now Visionary Award. Ms. Richard is honored for her tireless advocacy and support of living composers. Former Vice President and Director of Concert Music at ASCAP, she was Associate Director of Meet The Composer and Executive Director of the National Council for Arts and Education.

Meet and hear music by extraordinary living composers including:


Gustavo Casenave, composer/pianist
with Vicky Barranguet, painter






Steve Mackey

Steve Mackey, composer
Miranda Cuckson, violin







Peter Van Zandt Lane, composer/bassoonist*
with choreography by Kate Ladenheim


Peter Van Zandt Lane

Kate Ladenheim












Polina Nazaykinskaya, composerPolina Nazaykinskaya
Alissa Leiser, piano 






Jin Hi Kim, composer/electric kumongo player*
with librettist Ji Chao


Jin Hi Kim

Ji Chao












Jeff Scott, composerJeff Scott, composer
Monica Ellis, bassoon
Riko Higuma, piano








Alexis Cuadrado, composer/conductorAlexis Cuadrado
Excerpts from his original sound score for Charlie Chaplin's 1917 silent film The Immigrant

Levon Henry, sax & bass clarinet
Adam O'Farrill, trumpet
Joonas Lemetyinen, trombone
Nathan Kamal, violin
Joe Vilardi, guitar
Martha Kato, piano
Aron Caceres, bass
Chris Copland, drums




*Fall 2015 Composers Now Creative Residents at the Pocantico Center