Black History Month Recital

Tuesday, February 7, at 5:00 pm


Contact for admission information: or


Black History Month Recital photo
Kevin Scott

Soprano Helene Williams and composer/pianist Leonard Lehrman, Directors of Court Street Music in Valley Stream (founded in 1999), join forces with violinist Daniel Hyman and hornist Noah Fotis in a program featuring two world premieres and two classics: African American composer Kevin Scott's "Night Journey" for violin, horn and piano, commissioned for this concert series, which began in 2021; Leonard Lehrman's brand new setting of the 1961 poem "Blues de la pluie" in the original French of Martinique poet Aime Cesaire (1913-2008) and Lehrman's own English translation - both of these for Black History Month; Brahms' Trio for Violin, Horn and Piano; and Shostakovich's Piano Trio #2 arranged by Noah Fotis for Violin, Horn and Piano.

Leonard Lehrman
Leonard Lehrman

Leonard Lehrman, who composed and will accompany the opening number on the program, will be interviewing Kevin Scott, who wrote the major commissioned work, for violin, horn and piano, in 2021, which will, at last, receive its world premiere on this concert. The program will be filled out with two classic works for horn trio, including Brahms and one by Shostakovich arranged by hornist Noah Fotis. This will be Court Street Music's 18th recital on Zoom, and its 3rd annual Black History Month concert, co-hosted by the Henry Waldinger Memorial Library in Valley Stream.

Return to Schedule